Welcome to aurora.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the aurora community.

LED Screen not working after firmware upload

Discussion in 'RRD LCD Smart Controller' started by Kuiper, Mar 2, 2013.

  1. Kuiper

    Kuiper New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Hi again :)

    Okay, so I finished my build (yay!), uploaded the firmware to the board, then, where previously the LED screen had displayed temp, speed etc, it went to this-
    [​IMG]
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/68vwm8dy6nv5sec/2013-02-28 14.02.38.jpg?m
    I've tried it connected to the PC but not to power, to power and not PC, to both... I'm at a loss...
    Any suggestions?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. BubbleRep

    BubbleRep Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    are you talking about rumba? if so:
    Try it like this
    EXP1 LCD > EXP2 Rumba
    EXP2 LCD > EXP1 Rumba

    the silking on the board seems to be wrong - also you might have to play with the right pin one - there is room for misinterpretation as well, the black box on EXP1/2 is right, the arrow is wrong.

    BR
    BubbleRep
     
  3. pomalin

    pomalin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    what firmware do you use ?
     
  4. Kuiper

    Kuiper New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Hello, thanks for the speedy replies :)

    BR- I have to say, I understood almost none of what you wrote... (Did I mention I'm a complete novice?)
    Are you asking me if I have the RUMBA board ( http://reprap.org/wiki/RUMBA )? If so, no, I'm using your Mega 2560.

    pomalin- I'm using the Marlin v.1 ( https://github.com/ErikZalm/Marlin )

    I copied the instructions listed at the bottom of this page- ( http://reprap.org/wiki/Marlin ), uploaded the firmware successfully, then powered up which is when the screen changed to that pictured above.

    Many thanks in advance for your continued help.
     
  5. pomalin

    pomalin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    In marlin v1 normally you just have to change this (line 318) :
    Code:
    // The RepRapDiscount Smart Controller (white PCB)
    // http://reprap.org/wiki/RepRapDiscount_Smart_Controller
    //#define REPRAP_DISCOUNT_SMART_CONTROLLER
    to this :

    Code:
    // The RepRapDiscount Smart Controller (white PCB)
    // http://reprap.org/wiki/RepRapDiscount_Smart_Controller
    #define REPRAP_DISCOUNT_SMART_CONTROLLER
     
  6. Kuiper

    Kuiper New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Thanks for the reply pomalin :)

    Your suggestion did not work on its own, but I was able to resolve the issue by also changing the following code-

    In Configuration.H
    • #define MOTHERBOARD 33
    • #define TEMP_SENSOR_0 1
    • #define G3D_PANEL
    I hope this helps the next person who has this issue.
    So, onto the next bit I guess!..
    I dare say I'll be back with another question before long.... :D
     
  7. pomalin

    pomalin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Yes of course I was guessing you had made the first changes to have ramps by motherboard 33 and change the sensor to 1 instead of -1, as for the g3d_panel, don't you have the reprapdiscount panel in your marlin version ?
     
  8. Kuiper

    Kuiper New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Ah... I literally have no experience with firmware etc, I'm feeling my way along... I didn't know what to change (In fact, I was scared to, in case I broke something)

    I uncommented the reprapdiscount panel part to begin with, but it didn't seem to work, that's why I used the g3d_panel one... I have just tried the reprapdiscount one again and this time it's okay! :)

    I need to now configure it so that the arms know where they are in the world and the print bed is flat etc I guess... Any tips, suggestions or help you can give or if you can point me in the direction of a good tutorial, it would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks again!
     
  9. pomalin

    pomalin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    the arms? what type of printer do you have?
     
  10. Kuiper

    Kuiper New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    It's a Rostock... I got carried away with looking on the internet and couldn't see the wood for the trees... There's a bespoke Marlin version and a step by step configuration guide on the RepRapWiki page... Doh! :D
     
  11. pomalin

    pomalin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    So it's okay . Or not ? :)
     
  12. Kuiper

    Kuiper New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Seems great thusfar... I'm having an issue with MINTEMP being triggered so the printer shuts down automatically. I think it's because I didn't have the hotend wired up, so it thinks there's a temperature problem when there isn't. I could have fixed it by setting MINTEMP to 0 (I think), but instead I wired up the hotend and extruder etc (I was going to leave them until after calibration).

    But alas, I'm a student with 2 assignments due in this weekend and a long distance girlfriend that I'm visiting, so I won't have time to check if it works until Monday now...

    I'm sure I'll be back then with a dumb question or two though ;)
     
  13. pomalin

    pomalin Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    ok, cool, the rostock is just a great challenge for a beginner. Good luck.
     
  14. Herman Steyn

    Herman Steyn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2013

Share This Page