Welcome to aurora.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the aurora community.

Print freezing in the middle

Discussion in 'RUMBA' started by stephen.jensen3, May 6, 2013.

1. stephen.jensen3

stephen.jensen3 New Member

I have a rumba that is having troubles printing. I am able to start prints but sometimes it will just stop printing in the middle of a print and I have to restart the print to get it working again. I know that it is not the stepper motors overheating and I have already switched out the USB cable without any luck. I am communicating using the fastest baud setting (250000 or whatever it is).

Has anyone run into this? When the print stops, the motors are still engaged but if you wait long enough they losen up. Pressing start and stop in the cura software (in os x) does not make it restart. I am running the latest version of marlin on a mendel max 2.0. I heard someone discussing on a mendel max forum that it is possibly an issue with the bootloader, but I do not have knowledge of that sort of thing. I am sometimes able to complete small prints but larger prints totally stall at some point and it is not reproducible where it stalls if I restart it but it likely still does.

2. pomalin

pomalin Member

Did you try printing from the sd card ? If yes did it do the same thing ? If not, try it, I had a similar issue with two taurinos, but since I plug it to an usb hub, and this usb hub to my computer, no problems at all.

3. stephen.jensen3

Thanks for the suggestion pomalin! I tried printing a small object over the sdcard which failed over USB and it worked perfectly with the sd card. I am excited to try a larger object so see if that fares better as well.

What are the details about your usb hub fix? Is your usb hub powered or does it just draw from the usb of the computer? What exactly is the reason that the printer would be so much more stable using a hub?

4. pomalin

pomalin Member