Welcome to aurora.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the aurora community.

Unstable, then non-working Y-axis

Discussion in 'RUMBA' started by Håvard Fjær, Feb 28, 2013.

?

What might be the reason?

1. User error

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Wrong cabling

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Bad driver

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Bad RUMBA board

1 vote(s)
    50.0%
  5. Bad stepper motor

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  6. Bad power

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  7. Firmware setup

1 vote(s)
    50.0%
  1. Håvard Fjær

Håvard Fjær New Member

I got my RUMBA board a few days ago, an set it up with a few stepper motors this evening. However, during my setup I experienced this:

1) First I connected a driver and a stepper to the X-axis, and it tests OK when I "home" the motor.
    2) Next I connected another driver and stepper to the Y-axis, and still everything is OK; I am able to "home" both motors.
    3) Then I connect a driver and stepper to the Z-axis. The X-axis is working, Z is working, but now suddenly Y stopped working.
    4) I double check all cables to the stepper motors, the drivers are of course inserted the right way; everything looks as it should.
    5) I remove the Z-driver. The Y-stepper works again.
    6) I put the Z-driver back in. Now the Y-stepper works -- but suddenly stops again.
    7) I switch drivers between Y and Z. Y is not working, X and Z still working.

... and I continue to test out different setups; switching drivers, testing different stepper motors on the Y-axis, etc. Gradually the Y-axis dies completely.

Intuitively I suspected a bad solder, but I see none; all the solder points looks perfect. Next theory is that a component somewhere on the board might initially be weak, then fail completely -- but I'm a software guy, and would'n know where or how to start debugging. Or perhaps the cause something else entirely?